Remove Facebook/Deactivate Facebook
Do you want to remove your profile/account from Facebook permanently? Do you want to leave this Online social sharing for a while? Do you want to remove your digital identity from Facebook because you are not sure about your personal data security on it? There could be different reasons to remove Facebook but once you have decided, you can definitely delete your Facebook account permanently. Though Facebook discourage you to leave its app permanently but the final choice is totally yours.
Facebook is an excellent social sharing tool which keeps you in touch with your friends and family. However, some users gets messed up with pop ups bombarding, messages, pokes, and overwhelming response from friends and colleagues. Facebook becomes an addiction very quickly for some users. Apart from this, there have been so many questions regarding Facebook’s privacy practices. If you too have enough of Facebook and want to quit then here you go.
It is more difficult to get out of Facebook permanently than you could have ever imagined. Usually, users think that they deactivate their account on Facebook and you are done with it. But things are more complicated. Whenever any account is deactivated to remove Facebook, the profile disappears from the social network but the information of your account, your likes, shares, and even uploads are still present in the Facebook Server. So, you need to permanently delete your Facebook account so that all kind of data gets removed from the Facebook Server as well.
Steps to Deactivate Facebook Account
When you choose to deactivate Facebook Account, you can come back again on Facebook whenever you want.
- Open the Facebook Page and go the top right corner to click on downward arrow.
- Select Settings option
- Press on “Security” column
- Click on Deactivate account and confirm
Deactivating Facebook account doesn’t means that you are totally out of this social media. Though your profile will become unsearchable and will not be displayed on other’s Facebook users but messages you sent to your friends will be still available. Next time when you want to use Facebook with the same profile account once again, you can just log-in with the same email and password.
How to Permanently Delete Facebook Account
Deleting Facebook account is a bit different from deactivating it because once your delete Facebook account, you can use it with same profile again. Before you delete your Facebook profile, you can download a copy of your information from Facebook. It is available in the Settings option. Click on the link at the bottom of the main menu that gives option like “Download a copy of your Facebook data”. Once you have the copy, you can begin the permanent deletion process. Go the link, https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and click on “Delete my Account” option.
For Facebook, it may take up to 90 days to delete all your personal things including photos, videos, friend lists and so on. By the time Facebook is deleting your data, your personal information will be inaccessible for everybody including you.
Things to Consider When you Delete Facebook
- Does your Facebook account is used by other Apps or websites to authenticate or login you
- Do your colleagues or important people to you rely on Facebook profile to screen you
- Does your Facebook profile information is used by other websites to publish information about you on Internet
- Do you really don’t need Facebook to stay connected with others in this modern age